The University of Science and Technology of China(USTC) was established in Beijing in September 1958,with Guo Moruo as its first president.Its establishment was regarded as a major event in China's history of education and science. Since its very beginning, CAS has adopted a policy of "running the university with resources of the entire CAS and integrating each of its departments with relevant CAS research institutes." Led by a group of most renowned Chinese scientists of the time—Yan Jici, Hua Luogeng, Qian Xuesen, Zhao Zhongyao, Guo Yonghuai, Zhao Jiuzhang and Bei Shizhang, USTC set up a series of programs that creatively encompassed the frontiers of science and new technologies to meet the needs of the nation for developing science and technology. The University emphasized the teaching of fundamental courses and provided its students with a wide range of high-level training that incorporated newly-emerging as well as interdisciplinary fields of study. In its second year, USTC quickly rose to the status of a national key university. It has been one of the first institutions included in China's "985 Program" and "Project 211", and the only university participating in the National Program for Knowledge Innovation. Over the years, USTC has adhered to its motto of "being both politically sound and professionally competent, and integrating theory with practice" and promoted a style of "living for innovations." Its high-quality educational work, characterized by ground-breaking studies, combination of teaching and research and integration of theory with practice, has produced a large number of highly accomplished people and many significant, internationally-recognized, original research results. Detail>>


School of Physical Sciences of USTC was founded in 2009. It is the School of Science of USTC in origin, which was founded in 1994 and comprised department of "Mathematics, Physics ,Chemistry , Astronomy ,Geography, Biology". Its honorary dean is Mr. Chen Ning Yang, the Nobel Prize owner. At present the school consists of “Physics, Modern Physics, Optics & Optical Engineering, Astronomy, Physics Experiment Teaching Center". These five units were established in 1958, the establishment year of USTC. Since then, School of Physical Sciences became the master of physics gathering place, which made it one of the top centers for physics research.
School of Physical Sciences now have 167 members of faculty , among whom are 84 professors,64 associate professors, including 8 academicians of CAS and 1 of CAE. 85 doctoral supervisors, 3 national excellent teacher, 4 members of Cheung Kong Scholars Programme, 19 members supported by the National Foundation for Distinguished Youths , and 30 members supported by CAS Hundred Talents Programme". Detail>>

Found in 2003,Hefei National Laboratory of Physical Sciences at the Microscale (HFNL) is located on the campus of the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), under contract with the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) of the People’s Republic of China and the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). At HFNL, major focus is placed on areas of nano-science, information technology, biological science and cognitive science. HFNL is currently composed of seven divisions, including Division of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Division of Nano-materials and Nano-chemistry, Division of Low-dimensional Physics and Chemistry, Division of Quantum Physics and Quantum Information, Division of Structure and Function of Biomacromolecules, Division of Bio-X interdisciplinary Sciences, Division of Theoretical and Computational Sciences and Division of Public Technical Services. 
The operation of the divisions is to encourage interdisciplinary interaction and cooperation. Each division will be home to several research groups. The latter are organized according to projects. A project is the basic unit of HFNL and is under the charge of a Principal Investigator (PI). HFNL wishes to attract world class scientists to work at the Laboratory. The Laboratory is also a training ground for young talents. It has owned 8 Academicians of the CAS and 31 outstanding young scientists. Research personnel and project leaders of HFNL are open for world-wide application and recruitment. Detail>>